Great day to be out on the course

What a perfect day to be out!  The sky was clear, the temperature not too hot or not too cold, and it wasn’t that dark out.  Besides the killer wind that basically picked our discs out of the sky and threw them the opposite way, it was amazing out.

My friends Paul and Andy came with me to Robert Morris Park.  We only did nine holes because, like I said, Andy wanted to warm up to playing again, since he hasn’t gone in a while.  Plus we wanted to go eat dinner.  Anyway, nine holes was perfect because we got to play and not get tired out.

Since moving back from New York, I’ve been going out disc golfing a lot, and Robert Morris was the park that got me back into the sport.  I haven’t gone there since the beginning of March, but it seems in that time they have made some changes to the course.  The changes weren’t bad, except I loved the challenge of hole 9 (which had a huge chunk of water for you to throw over, pretty wicked).  If felt like they shrank up the holes some, but not to say they were easier.  I still had the problem of letting go too soon.  It’s funny because I know it’s happening, yet I can’t stop it.  I have to focus on holding the disc until my arm is straight.  Maybe the problem is that I am fulfilling the prophesy of knowing that I let it go early.  Anyone have any advice on stopping that?

I also seem to have the power of hitting trees dead on.  This might be tied to the letting go to early problem, so, maybe I’ll let that go for now.

My discs are flying further, which is great. But, I just need to make sure they are going the way I want them to.

Andy and Paul were great.  Whatever Andy was saying about not being good was a bit of a lie, he did really well.  He is left-handed and so it was interesting to watch him throw.  He throw the forehand way and instead of it going to the right (like it should for right-handed people) his goes left.  Different, but neat.

I’ve mentioned Paul before in this blog, so you know that he has gone out disc golfing before.  He does ultimate Frisbee, so he has a pretty powerful arm.  What’s interesting about him is that he only uses one disc for everything.  And the crazy thing is that it works.  Makes you wonder if you really need that bag full of discs…  That disc even worked for him when he was forced to throw his disc from a tree limb (gotta play where it lays…).

I didn’t reach my goal of par on every hole.  I would love to blame the wind and say that it caused the issue.  I would also love to say it was all of the other golfers on the course, maybe I was embarrassed to perform in front of them (there was this guy behind us that was reaching the baskets in one throw, no way you can look good in front of that).  But, like I stated earlier the problem was letting go too early.  Time to go to the park and practice throwing.

GOAL

Par on every hole.

GOAL ACCOMPLISHED?

No

PROBLEM

Letting disc go too early

SOLUTION

Practice throws until I know where the disc should go

Leave a comment

Filed under Disc Golfing

Leave a Reply

