A ticket to getting better…

I actually have quite a bit to write about today and I’m not sure how to start it.  Like I said quickly yesterday, I was in Chicago this past weekend and so I didn’t get a chance to go out and disc golf.  But, I did get my friend Paul’s disc golf basket to practice putting, which I used on Monday.  And yesterday I went out to Robert Morris Park in Comstock and did nine holes with Andy.  Finally, I have one tiny (angry) surprise from yesterday’s session that I can’t decide if I want to share on this post or wait.  I could talk about it, but I think if I wait, I might convince you to come back to read it.  The one hint I could give is that it has something to do with the title of this post…

To follow the point of this blog, I’ll talk about the more important of the three topics and talk about me actually going out and disc golfing.  It was another amazing day out at Robert Morris, not too hot and not too cold, there was some wind, but nothing we couldn’t manage, and there wasn’t a ton of people out there causing us to wait at each pad.  Overall I did pretty good, I only had a couple of stray throws.  For the most part my throwing was good, the disc went where I wanted it.  So, I can say that the practice did pay off (not saying that I’m going to stop practicing, in fact it means that I should do more).  My putting was off and on, I pulled off some sweet putts, but then some other times the putter just wouldn’t make it in the basket.  I felt really positive about my game after finishing it up, knowing from my past experiences with this course, I believe I did the best I have ever done there.

The back nine of Robbert Morris is more open and longer holes, meaning you have to keep your discs low and have them fly far.  I’ve always had a hard time with both of those points.  I usually throw my disc high and the it just comes back down.  The wind is always stronger up there and it basically grabs the disc and it pushes it down and usually back some feet.   This time around I kept the discs lower, which helped them fly much further.  Hole 11 is a long hole, with an old fence baseball backstop about halfway to the basket and is about 483 feet  straight with the basket on the backside of the hill that you went up on for hole 10.  When I’ve played on this hole in the past I had a hard time making it to that fence from the pad.  Yesterday I was able to make it there, and then make it to the basket in two more throws.  I am really happy about this, hence the long description :).  There isn’t too much to discuss about my throws besides that one, I guess there were a couple of throws that I wasn’t proud about.  Hole 17 is another long hole that is straight with the left side of the fairway all woods.  And about halfway down, the woods covers up a deep ditch.  And trust me that ditch is deep!  I went out there with my father-in-law back in January and my disc went down in that ditch, which was a pain to get down there with snow and then even more of a pain to throw that disc up that snowy dirt wall and past the gate of trees.  I am telling you this story because I told Andy a similar story as we waited for the guys in front of us to finish up the hole.  And sure enough, the trickster gods of disc golf were listening and decided it would be a good time for me to throw a disc down that same ditch, just so Andy could see me reenact the story.  Plus, it already took me two throws to get about twenty feet from the pad.  Good times.

My putting game was good, like I said above.  I’ll go into more detail about my practicing with Paul’s basket later, but let’s just say that I had some practicing under my belt.  I have read lots of advice on putting, the best part of the advice is that you need to envision the putter going into the basket before you throw it.  Other things include focusing on a link of one of the chains, coming up with some sort of routine every time you throw, and imagining a line from your stomach to the basket.  (I’ll go into more detail in a later post)  Anyway, with this advice and some practicing under my belt, I felt a little more confident about my putting yesterday on the course.  I had some great putts and some that weren’t so great.  But, this is all for the good, a way for me to get better.  If I notice what is going wrong, I can focus on that and improve it.  So, the biggest thing I noticed is that my putting has too much power when it shouldn’t and not enough power when it should.  I either hit the basket or the putter went more to the left.  However, there were some great putts that grabbed the chains and dropped right into the basket.

Overall, it was a great day to go out and I felt really good about my game (I’m not sure what to really call it.  It wasn’t a game, but what else would you say?  Any advice on what to call it when you go out and disc golf?)  I think you are going to want to read tomorrow’s post because it’s going to be a good one!!!

GOAL

Par on every hole

Better putting

GOAL ACCOMPLISHED?

Not really, maybe hit par on one or two holes, also half and half on putting

PROBLEM

Turning wrist to throw disc up

Not enough power or too much power on putting

SOLUTION

Practice putting from different distances, which should help with the power problem

Continue practicing driving

Leave a comment

Filed under Disc Golfing

Leave a Reply

